Every Day Is Sacred

celtic crossSome days it’s not very difficult to witness the holy. Yesterday we rejoiced in the birth of a very special baby. When the news came that Campbell Robb was born to Carly and Corry Robb (and big sister Ellie), we were reminded once again of the gift and miracle of new birth. It was a sacred celebration!

But not every day is like that. On most days nothing very special seems to happen. And yet every day is given to us for a purpose. Every day is sacred.

A favorite writer of mine is the Irish poet John O’Donohue. In his book, To Bless The Space Between Us, he suggests some questions we might ask ourselves at the end of the day (or at the beginning) to open our awareness to the sacredness of the most ordinary of days.

Consider some of these as you end your day today. I expect that they will change your perception of this day. No day is ordinary.

What dreams did I create last night?

Where did my eyes linger today?

Where was I blind?

Where was I hurt without anyone noticing?

What did I learn today?

What did I read?

What new thoughts visited me?

What differences did I notice in those closest to me?

Whom did I neglect?

Where did I neglect myself?

What did I begin today that might endure?

How were my conversations?

What did I do today for the poor and excluded?

Did I remember the dead today?

Where could I have exposed myself to the risk of something different?

Where did I allow myself to receive love?

With whom did I feel most myself?

What reached me today? How deep did it imprint?

Who saw me today?

What visitations had I from the past and from the future?

What did I avoid today?

From the evidence – why was I given this day?

 

In Christ,

Pastor Jen

Leave a Reply

