Women Are Speaking

imageI am at a theological conference today and all the speakers are women.

Perhaps in 2015 this may not seem a big deal to you, but it is to me. I grew up before women were pastors in the Lutheran church. I grew up when women were not allowed to serve on the church council or vote in congregational meetings. (My father assured me that women could share their opinions with their husbands…)

When my pastor told me when I was 13 that I could not be an acolyte because I was a girl, I didn’t make a fuss. I didn’t object. It was just the way it was.

Change came slowly to our church.

It was only later that I came to appreciate the women who did make a fuss, who did object. Their refusal to accept the way things were opened doors for other women and me. And it opened doors for men who would be given the opportunity to listen to women in leadership roles in the church for the first time.

All the speakers at this conference are women. It’s a big deal. There are 1000 men and women with me in the audience eager to hear what they say.

Women are speaking and teaching and preaching in the church. Thanks be to Hod that we can finally hear them.

In Christ,

Pastor Jen

Leave a Reply

